Birthday Celebrations

“So what are you doing for your birthday?” B asks me.

Nothing. I was just thinking dinner and drinks – nothing too fancy.

That is soooooooooo lame!

Yeah but I am really lazy.

Let me organise it.

Erm… But you’ve just had a baby.

Which means I have nothing else to do.

If you’re sure…..

Of course I am sure.

And that is how B ended up organising a superb birthday bash – a 1920s Hollywood Glamour themed birthday bash. But this isn’t so much about the bash.

Baba – so I’m going out for my birthday. Do you want to come?

Erm… I guess.

Well you don’t have to if you don’t want to. It’s just a few of my friends and family.

No, I’m going to have to meet them sometime right?

And that’s how Baba ended up coming.

No one apart from B actually knows that we’re in a relationship but I think that might have since changed. He arrived late (nothing unusual!) with a beautiful bunch of red roses, a ginormous birthday cake and some presents. He looked so handsome. And he’d made an effort as well by dressing up – I was so impressed.

I’d already warned him against PDAs (and we know how that worked out….). I introduced to my siblings first. I was so worried about this. My brother being the overprotective one that he is but Baba was the perfect gentleman. Showing the right amount of interest, being polite, offering to buy them drinks and just in general being the charmer that he is. After siblings, B’s turn. She’s a little giddy with excitement but I left them to it. It was great that I didn’t have to babysit him. That he was able to hold his own. I flitted about like the social butterfly that I am and I caught him watching me at certain moments. It was like it was just us there. I did end up dragging him to the bar after a while. Mainly so I was able to touch him. Hold his hand, stroke his face and a chance to give him a hug. We spent the rest of the night glued to each other. Obviously talking to and mingling but he didn’t leave my side. We had a few stolen kisses when (hopefully) nobody was looking.

I think it went well. My siblings seemed to like him. B seemed to like him. And I got two approval texts from two of my closest friends.

I am so smitten that I am now scared that I’ve let myself fall too deep too quickly.

4 thoughts on “Birthday Celebrations

Leave a Reply

